Back to previous page

2016 Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health (CAMIMH) Champions of Mental Health Awards – Nomination Guidelines

The Canadian Alliance on Mental Illness and Mental Health (CAMIMH) is pleased to invite nominations for its 2016 Champions of Mental Health Awards. The annual Champions awards brings together members of the CAMIMH network, political decision makers, business leaders, members of the national media, sponsors and other stakeholders to celebrate individuals and organizations whose outstanding contributions have advanced the mental health agenda in Canada.

Some or all of the following award categories may be awarded in a given year:

  • The Sharon Johnston Champion of Mental Health Award for Youth
    (Any Canadian 21 and younger who has shown leadership in his or her community in promoting mental health and or mental illness awareness, or any organizations dedicated to providing services for youth.)
  • Media
    (Any media personality or outlet who has contributed to public awareness of mental health or mental illness awareness.)
  • Workplace Mental Health
    (Any employer or employee who has contributed to creating a mentally healthy workplace for staff.)
  • Community Organization
    (Any organization that has provided great public service to community members experiencing mental illness.)
  • Community Individual
    (Any person, who through personal commitment has increased awareness about mental illness or reduced stigma in his or her community.)
  • Parliamentarian
    (Any provincial or federal Parliamentarian who has advanced the mental health agenda in Canada.)
  • Researcher or Clinician
    (Anyone who through their work as a researcher or clinician has advanced the mental health agenda in Canada.)

How to nominate a Champion for 2016? Please review the guidelines, then complete the nomination form at the bottom of the page.

How are the Champions selected? A selection committee of CAMIMH member organizations will review and select the award recipients according to the categories described above. Consideration will be given not just to the contributions of individuals and organizations within the designated categories but also to ensuring that as a group, the 2016 recipients represent a range of significant contributions to mental health from across Canada.

Nominees will be evaluated based on the following criteria:

i. commitment and/or longevity of commitment to mental health and illness
ii. significance of contribution
iii. uniqueness of contribution
iv. by word or example, brings mental health and illness to the attention of the public

Notes: Nominations will be accepted until February 27, 2016. Successful nominees will be notified in the weeks following.

Champions will participate in CAMIMH’s Champion’s Gala, held this year in Ottawa on May 3rd at the Shaw Centre. Awards will be conferred at this event, attended by CAMIMH’s network, politicians, business leaders, sponsors and other stakeholders.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Sonja Woods at 613-233-8906 or at

To submit an nomination click here.